• Lee

Oblivion - The Path Towards...

We had the pleasure of hearing the new Oblivion album “The Path Towards” before its release on the 17th November 2017

(Thanks to Ben Orum “Guitarist of Oblivion, All Shall Perish)

There has been a lot of talk about when Oblivion will release new music and trust me... The wait was 100% worth it!!!

Their former release “Called To Rise” (2013) was a full length album packed full of surprises!

“The Path Towards” has its own surprises.. Your not going to find the orchestra versions but you will get their heaviest release to date!!!

OBLIVION features a compelling lineup with internationally-acclaimed composer and Antagony founder Dr. Nick Vasallo on vocals and bass, All Shall Perish and Antagony founder Ben Orum on guitar, thrash metal veteran guitarist Ted O’Neill, and drum virtuoso Luis Martinez (formerly of The Zenith Passage), trained by renowned jazz funk musician Ndugu Chancler. Their songs are masterfully composed by Vasallo using material from all the band members

Nick Vasallo - Vocals / Bass

Ben Orum - Guitar

Ted O'Neill - Guitar

Luis Martinez - Drums

The Path Towards… was recorded and engineered by Zack Ohren (Animosity, Suffocation, All Shall Perish, Cattle Decapitation, Fallujah) at Castle Ultimate Productions, features artwork by Daniel McBride (Black Label Society, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Chimera) and will be released on the 17th November 2017.

We have had “The Path Towards” playing in the studio for the last 3 weeks and can't get enough of it!

Oblivion promised that this new Album will be their heaviest release to date and they weren't lying!!!

Personally i think the switch from Ben Orum playing bass to guitar was the best thing for Oblivion,

Ben’s creative style really shines in all of his work and you can hear this in all of the tracks of this new release!

To make things even better Eddie Hermida (All Shall Perish / Suicide Silence) is the guest vocalist on the tracks 4,9 and 10!

This excites me as we haven't seen Ben and Eddie work together since All Shall Perish’s “This Is Where It Ends” album!

Track 5 features Enrico Di Lorenzo (Hideous Divinity) as a guest vocalist.

and on track 9 Carlos Saldana (Antagony) as a guest vocalist

not only that but track 5 was co-wrote by Karl Sanders of nile!!!

“The Path Towards” is a powerful,energetic and masterful album that every one should hear at least once... after that you will keep going back for more!!!

Its hard for us to choose a favourite track of this album but “Awaiting Autochthon” grabbed our attention with its heavy guitars, pumping drums and Nick’s brutal vocals!!!

But not one track lets this release down!


Have a listen on the 17th November and thank me later!!!

Keep a eye out on Oblivions Social media as we have heard from Ben Orum that this is a two part release!!!

The Path Towards (Via Unique Leader) is actually only part one of Oblivions new material, they wrote 22 songs and are in the process of recording part two once they have found a new label to release it with in 2018.

We also have word that Oblivion are already writing their next release... so you better get used to hearing their name as OBLIVION are here to stay!!!!

Our final thoughts......

We stated last month that we thought Shadow Of Intents "Reclaimer" is looking to be 2017's best release...

With "The Path That Follows" being such a amazing album with every track keeping you interested and wanting more have Oblivion won our vote for 2017s best release?!?!...


OBLIVION "Concrete Thrones" featuring Eddie Hermida (SUICIDE SILENCE, ALL SHALL PERISH)


Merchandise / Facebook / Youtube / Bandcamp

Want your Single / EP / Album featured on our blog? drop us a message


#oblivion #music #allshallperish #benorum #bandreview #review #recordingstudio #recording #studio #thepathtowards #eddie


© 2020 AKU Recording Studio.